SAXTON — While the Tussey Mountain wrestling squad used six forfeits to secure a 54-26 victory, that didn’t mean the Claysburg-Kimmel Bulldogs didn’t give the hosts a battle.

Of the seven matches wrestled, Claysburg-Kimmel won four.

With low numbers, Claysburg-Kimmel coach Matt Musselman knows the adversity his team faces.

“Low numbers are killing us,” he explained. “It’s hard to compete when you have so few guys.

“I thought the guys wrestled well tonight. Head-to-head, we matched up well. The guys have been improving and working hard all season.”

The match opened at 152 and it resulted in 32 points scored between C-K’s Levi Brown and TM’s Bryan Rankin.

The Titan got the opening five points with a takedown and a trio of back points, but following a reversal by Brown and an escape by Rankin, the match heated up.

Brown used a takedown and five back points to take a 9-6 lead into the second period. The Bulldog opted to take bottom to begin the second period, and he got a reversal and eight back points to lead 18-6.

Rankin fought back with a reverse and a pair of back points in the final 20 seconds, cutting the deficit to eight, 18-10.

Brown earned four more points in the final period to secure the 22-10 victory.

Claysburg’s Kobe Harr earned a forfeit at 160, pushing the visitors ahead, 10-0, but consecutive forfeits to Aden Scott and Havard Straumsheim put the hosts ahead, 14-10.

Cole Weist earned a fall for the Titans at 195, pinning Claysburg-Kimmel’s Cooper Lingenfelter in 5:59.

Weist opened with a takedown and those were the only points earned in the opening period. Weist added another two points in the second period with Lingenfelter trying for the escape as the two went out of bounds, with the Titan leading 4-0.

Weist opted for the bottom as the third period opened and Lingenfelter tried to use a sweet jane to keep control of Weist, but the Titan pulled out the reversal, applied the cradle, and got the pin with a second left in the bout.

Tussey Mountian’s Damon Lemin picked up a 45-second pin over C-K’s Logan McDonald at 220, while Matt Watkins added another pin for the Titans, pinning Carlos Mejia-Mock in 1:26.

Trevor Husick, Michael Lazor, and Hunter Horton picked up three straight forfeits, pushing the Titans ahead, 48-10.

The hosts added just one more forfeit from there with Brady Villa at 138.

Claysburg-Kimmel earned bonus-point victories in the final three matches wrestled on the mat.

Hunter Dively trailed 4-0 after the opening period against Tussey Mountain’s Chris Pierce at 126, but the Bulldog fought back in the second period. He took bottom, got the reversal and four back points before the two traded reversals. Dively secured a pin with five seconds left in the second period, 3:55.

Zach Claycomb needed 1:21 to pin Tussey Mountain’s Nick Brumbaugh at 132.

Cade Keithley won by a 15-5 major decision over TM’s Colton Riley.

The Bulldog opened with a 9-2 run, allowing just a reversal by the Titan. Following a scoreless second period, Keithley got a reversal and a pair of back points before Riley escaped. Keithley got a takedown with 30 seconds left, but Riley pulled a reversal with just a second left, as the visiting Bulldog won, 15-5.

Despite the 54-26 decision, Tussey Mountain coach Mason Replogle was not pleased with his team’s performance on the mat.

“The effort was not there,” he said. “We kept finding ourselves in bad positions. We had guys quit when they were down in the match. They were giving up bonus points individually when they should have won.

“I thought a couple could have went the other way, but their heads were not in it.”

Claysburg-Kimmel hosts Glendale on Thursday, while Tussey Mountain visits Bellwood-Antis on Tuesday.



152 — Levi Brown, CK, major dec. Bryan Rankin, 22-10.

160 — Kobe Harr, CK, won by forfeit.

170 — Aden Scott, TM, won by forfeit.

182 — Havard Straumsheim, TM, won by forfeit.

195 — Cole Weist, TM, pinned Cooper Lingenfelter, 5:59.

220 — Damon Lemin, TM, pinned Logan McDonald, 0:45.

285 — Matt Watkins, TM, pinned Carlos Mejia-Mock, 1:26.

106 — Trevor Husick, TM, won by forfeit.

113 — Michael Lazor, TM, won by forfeit.

120 — Hunter Horton, TM, won by forfeit.

126 — Hunter Dively, CK, pinned Chris Pierce, 3:55.

132 — Zach Claycomb, CK, pinned Nick Brumbaugh, 1:21.

138 — Brady Villa, TM, won by forfeit.

145 — Cade Keithley, CK, major dec. Colton Riley, 15-5.

Contact Codi Weyant at or at 623-1151 ext. 155.


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.