The order in which candidates will appear on the May 21 primary election ballots was determined on Friday at the Bedford County courthouse by the county elections board.

Candidates in contested races drew lots to determine their place on the ballot.

In the county commissioners race, Charwin Reichelderfer of Bedford will be the first name on the Republican ballot among four candidates. Incumbent commissioners Josh Lang of Bedford and Barry Dallara of Alum Bank will be second and third, respectively, followed by David Copley of Everett.

On the Democratic ballot, Deb Baughman of Saxton will be listed first and Troy Risbon of Bedford will be second.

Diane Nelson of Everett will be the first candidate on the Republican ballot for sheriff, followed by Erik Whisker of Everett and Wayne Emerick of Alum Bank.

Sheri Lowery of Schellsburg will be listed first on the Republican ballot for prothonotary, followed by Barbara Himmler of Bedfrod.

Carol Miller of Fishertown will be listed first on the Republican ballot for auditor, followed by incumbent auditors Mary Rowzer of Alum Bank and Reagan Young of Bedford.

The ballot positions for judge of the Court of Common Pleas will be determined by the state, according to Director of Elections Debra Brown.

The offices of the district attorney, treasurer and coroner are uncontested.

Candidates in other contested municipal races also drew lots for their place on their respective ballots.

Republican candidates for Bedford Borough council, from top, include Timothy Weaverling, Patrick Neff and Kenny Fetterman.

The Republican ballot for Everett Borough council will include Luther G. Scell Jr., at the top, followed by Alexandra Preston and Robbie Conrath.

Other borough council races include: David Chisholm and Saundra Thomas on the Democratic ballot in Hopewell; Lewis Baker II and Christine Feather on the Republican ballot in Pleasantville; John Johnson and Dennis Clawson on the Republican ballot in Saxton.

Bedford Township incumbent supervisor Greg Crist will be listed first with challenger Matt Mundorff in second position.

Other contested Republican township supervisor races, as they are to appear on the ballot from top to bottom, include: Troy Allison and Charles Yarnell in Lincoln Township; Gary Pensyl Jr. and Steven Emerick Jr. in Londonderry Township; Bryan Paul Whitfield, Theron M. Brennan and Cameron Painter in East Providence Township; and Brandon Chamberlain and Joshua Weicht in West Providence Township.

A number of candidates for school boards had lots drawn. School board candidates were able to cross-file with both parties.

The Bedford Area School District had Tom Bullington of Manns Choice and Sandy Mehalko of Bedford draw lots for two seats in Area I, Jay Cessna and Jeremy Oldham, both of Bedford, for two seats in Area II.

Chestnut Ridge Area School District had James Dull and Kay Dull, both of Alum Bank, for two seats in Area II, and Erin McGill of Osterburg and Mark Diehl of New Paris for two seats in Area III.

In Everett Area School District, Darrell Bowman and Randy Shaw, both of Everett, will be on the ballot for two seats in Area II and Marla Pennabaker, Fred Baca and Tyler Burchfield, all of Everett, will vie for two seats in Area III.

Northern Bedford Area School District has Chad Mickle of Woodbury, Mike Miller of New Enterprise, John Eshelman of Loysburg and Steven Cottle of New Enterprise on the Republican ballot. Eshelman and Mickle also will be on the Democratic ballot, respectively.

The Claysburg-Kimmel Area School District ballot will show Mandi Daugherty of Imler in the first position, followed by Shelda Repko of Queen, and Amy Claar-Gill of Claysburg on the ballot in Kimmel Township.

Tussey Mountain Area School District is set to have Adam Baker of James Creek, John Husick of Saxton and Brad Rouser of Saxton competing for two seats in Area III.

Contact Will DeShong at; 623-1151, ext. 150.

Recommended for you


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.