Conley graduates with honors

Taylor Conley of New Enterprise has graduated cum laude from Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science in Animal Science. Conley also has been named to the spring semester dean’s list. Students must achieve at least a 3.5 grade-point average to be named to the list.

Students named to dean’s list

Twenty-five area students have been named to the president’s list and the dean’s list for the spring semester at Saint Francis University. Named to the president’s list with 4.0 grade-point averages were Debra Foor of New Enterprise, Courtney Garver of Claysburg, Emily Hoover of Roaring Spring, Faith Keller of Alum Bank, Jillian Leppert of Alum Bank, Maryah Lingenfelter of Hopewell, Allison Shuke of Everett and Margaret Stern of Roaring Spring. Named to the dean’s list with at least 3.5 grade-point averages were Kylie Bussard of Hopewell, Emily Claar of Imler, Hayley Cottle of Woodbury, Autumn Creighton of Bedford, Kale Dively of Bedford, Levi Hobson of Alum Bank, Sarah Horton of Roaring Spring, Sundareen Hoy of Everett, Kierstin Jay of Artemas, Kirsten Jones of Bedford, Cory Kumpf of Imler, Paul Liebal of Roaring Spring, Evan Messner of Roaring Spring, Blake Over of Roaring Spring, Emma Smith of Claysburg, Lene Willey of Alum Bank and Thaddeus Willey of Roaring Spring.

BPW names scholarship winners

The Bedford Business and Professional Women’s Club has announced its scholarship winners for 2020. This year’s recipients are Hannah Lafferty, a Bedford High School graduate and daughter of David and Jennifer Lafferty of Buffalo Mills, and Allyson Ritchey, a Northern Bedford County High School graduate and daughter of Kerry Ritchey and the late Melissa Ritchey and granddaughter of Sylvia Benton. Each graduate will receive $1,000. Lafferty has been involved in 4-H, volleyball and National Honors Society. She plans to attend the University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg to major in nursing and minor in health care management with the ultimate goal of becoming a traveling nurse working in an ICU or emergency room. Ritchey was involved in her high school’s marching band, pep band, concert band, chorus, Scholastic Scrimmage team, Reading Competition team, Future Business Leaders of America and National Honor Society. Outside of school, she spent her time doing a series of interviews at the Bedford County Historical Society and helping out with her church’s monthly Angel Meals. She is going to attend Shippensburg University to study communication/journalism as a member of the Wood Honor College and to play in the Red Raider Marching Band.

Luther named to list with 4.0

Darbi Luther, daughter of Michael and Traci Luther of Fishertown, has been named to the spring semester president’s list at West Virginia University with a 4.0 grade-point average. She is a junior pursuing a doctorate in physical therapy. She’s employed at Campus Rec and is a teacher’s assistant for the Computer Science Department.

Two earn honors

Evan Messner of Roaring Spring and Zachary Patterson of Bedford have received esports All-Academic honors at Saint Francis University. Messner, a public health major, is an Overwatch player, while Patterson, a biology major, is a League of Legends player. The university is a newcomer to competitive college esports.

Knepp named to list

Brad Knepp of Everett has been named to the spring semester dean’s list at Susquehanna University. Students must achieve at least a 3.4 grade-point average to be named to the list. Knepp is a physics major in the Class of 2021 and a graduate of Everett Area High School.

Flaaen earns degree

Alex Flaaen of Everett has earned an Associate of Arts degree from Appalachian Bible College in Mt. Hope, West Virginia.

Three named to list

Three area residents have been named to the spring semester dean’s list at Saint Vincent College in Labrobe. They are Allison Straub, Bedford; Luke Thomas, Martinsburg; and Cameron Norris, Roaring Spring. Students must achieve at least a 3.5 grade-point average to be named to the list.

News published free of chargeEducation and military news items, with or without photos, are published free of charge. Forms may be requested by emailing or by calling 623-1151, ext. 120.

Recommended for you


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.